Nurse Practitioners

About Nurse Practitioners

There are four types of Advanced Practice Registered Nurses (APRN). APRNs have Masters and Doctoral degrees and national certification to practice.

Nurse Practitioner (NP) - manage and provide primary and acute care, diagnose illness, prescribe tests and medications, promote health and wellness.Must pass a rigorous National Certification Exam. Hold  masters or doctoral degrees. The Institute of Medicine (IOM) researched the quality of nurse practitioners and found that they have equal safety and quality outcomes as physicians. The IOM recommends that  nurse practitioners be able to practice independently with full prescriptive ability.

What is an NP? AANP Resource

One minute video

Five minute video

Certified Nurse Midwife (CNM) - manage and provide obstetrical and gynecological care, deliver babies and provide well woman primary care.
Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist (CRNA) - manage and provide anesthesia care and pain management services.
Clinical Nurse Specialist (CNS) - provide clinical expertise to effect system-wide changes to improve health care programs and improve outcomes of individual patients.

Contact Us

  • Florida Association of Nurse Practitioners, Inc.
  • PO Box 602
    Lake Helen, FL 32744
  • 850.363.3627

Vision Statement

Florida Association of Nurse Practitioners will be the leading Florida Nurse Practitioner professional organization advocating for patient centered health care. The organization will increase knowledge on healthcare policy pertaining to Nurse Practitioner practice and patient centered health care; and will remove barriers to Nurse Practitioner practice to gain access to quality health care for Floridians.